In The Flow at Sprint Mill

As well as two weeks of art and craftwork on display, our C-Art Open Studio exhibition hosted a fantastic night of spoken word with some fantastic pieces inspired by Sprint Mill.

Simon Sylvester

A few months ago, I was asked by my friends in the Sprintmilling art collective to run a spoken word evening as part of their exhibition for the excellent C-Art open studio trail. My first instinct was to say no, because I’m so constantly swamped with work that I’m barely writing anything of my own. But on reflection, I decided to go ahead and give it everything I had. I’ve never organised or hosted a spoken word event, and Sprint Mill is a very special place to me. What swung it for me was a request of mill owner Edward Acland, who wondered if the performers might be interested in writing a piece or two inspired by the mill. I was so intrigued by this idea that I decided to take it on. I called the night In The Flow, and set about inviting writers I knew would do it justice.

In the end, we…

View original post 446 more words

About Steve Tomlin

I am a greenwood worker and scythe tutor. I carve spoons, bowls and other products from locally sourced greenwood. During the summer I teach scything around the UK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In The Flow at Sprint Mill

Leave a Reply

