A very special plane

Stanley ClarkWhile we were ladder making the other week, Stanley recommended one particular wooden jack plane for me to use while smoothing the poles. I’ve used wooden planes before and enjoy the tactile process of adjusting them using a wooden mallet so this was didn’t seem anything unusual and it certainly cut sweetly.

White text

White text

As I worked I noticed Stanley’s name stamped into the body of the plane. I commented that I’ve used many tools with names stamped onto them but never one where I’d actually met the previous owner and what a treat that was.

Stanley's wooden jack plane

Stanley then revealed that the plane was actually made by his grandfather, Ebeneezer, whose name is also stamped onto the plane. Not only that but he’d signed and dated the mallet when the set was made, 9th May 1890. It was quite an experience to be making shavings with a 124 years old wooden plane.
Wooden jack plane and mallet Ebeneezer Clark 6th May 1890

About Steve Tomlin

I am a greenwood worker and scythe tutor. I carve spoons, bowls and other products from locally sourced greenwood. During the summer I teach scything around the UK.
This entry was posted in SteveTomlinCrafts, tools and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A very special plane

  1. Matt Rae says:

    That is really really neat!

  2. Ash says:

    How’s that for sustainability? Do you think the tools WE use will be around 124 years after us?

  3. John Martin says:

    When I was a forestry student working on Huntley Manor Estate in the early 1970’s I had to cut Norway Spruce thinnings for the Ladder Works at Newent, Glos. Wooden fruit picking ladders with splayed feet were in decline and I don’t think anyone makes them now.

  4. abusymum says:

    That’s brilliant. Fabulous, living history, craft history, tool history. Just a shame it couldn’t his son or daughter carrying on his skills.

Leave a Reply

