New birch bark boxes

Pictures of a couple more birch bark boxes that I finished during the holidays. These have bases and lids carved from green willow which is a lovely wood to work with, it was in just the right state and carved really easily and crisply.
birch bark boxes
After the first box I made I sat and thought about the different stages; what was difficult, what took the most time, what would I like to improve of the design and final product? Asking these questions was really useful and, along with looking at pictures of lots of other bark work, these latest two boxes were much quicker to make and turned out better too. With any new craft, it’s not until you make a few more items that you start to learn the techniques and what are the most important aspects of how to make them.

These latest two boxes are for sale, to order please use the order form.

The first box has a rebated lid and handle inspired by the spoons of Fritiof Runhall. It is 80x90mm, £28 +£5 p&p.

birch bark box birch bark box

This box has an alternative design of interlocking tabs, 72x95mm, £25 + £5 p&p

birch bark box

About Steve Tomlin

I am a greenwood worker and scythe tutor. I carve spoons, bowls and other products from locally sourced greenwood. During the summer I teach scything around the UK.
This entry was posted in SteveTomlinCrafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New birch bark boxes

  1. jarrod says:

    nice work steve! keep at it…

  2. Richard Law says:

    Hi Steve.

    These boxes are great, but where on earth do you source the bark? (I’d keep it secret if I were you.)

    Richard

  3. sandi says:

    Wow, they are stunning!

    What would you charge for one of these?

  4. stevetomlin says:

    Hi Sandi,
    Glad you like them, have added prices to the post.
    Best wishes,
    Steve

  5. Glen Gaiger says:

    Steve I have just started trying to make these type of boxes. Do you cut your own bark or can it be bought. I have tried cutting my own but with varying degrees of success.
    Any help would be much appreciated ,cheers Glen
    Great looking work by the way

    • Steve Tomlin says:

      I cut my own bark, I don’t know anywhere to buy it from. The quality is very variable and you need to try collecting from different areas. Also try other species, birch isn’t the only bark which will work.

Leave a Reply

