New tool handles and sheaths

Eight months after the fire and I’m still getting my tool kit back together. It’s interesting to see which have been the first to be repaired and which have waited longer. Partly this is down to what I’ve been making this year.

My Gransfors carving axe was top of the list for repair and it’s the one thing I really felt lost without it, the weight and shape of it just suits my and my carving so it got rehandled and sharpened before anything else. The sheath is made from oak bark tanned leather from J & FJ Baker of Devon.
Restored Gransfors carving axe and sheath

I do much more carving these days than turning so my pole-lathe tools were further down the list and I’ve just finished handling and sharpening them up over the xmas break . The handles are simply carved from hazel in the round. They’ll never be hit with a mallet so don’t need to be strong. I find the texture of a carved surface gives me better grip and the different patterns make it easier to pick up the right tool from a rack.
Pole-lathe turning tools

Still a few more things to do, particularly my chisels which will have ash handles turned to fit the original ferrules – hence needing the turning tools. Make a tool to make a tool..

About Steve Tomlin

I am a greenwood worker and scythe tutor. I carve spoons, bowls and other products from locally sourced greenwood. During the summer I teach scything around the UK.
This entry was posted in SteveTomlinCrafts, tools and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New tool handles and sheaths

  1. Richard Law says:

    Hi Steve,

    Would be interested in chatting about how you source the leather from Barkers and what type of leather you’re using for sheaths. Maybe see you at Moss and Spring Heights in Jan.

    Glad to hear your tools are getting back up to normal.

    • stevetomlin says:

      Hi Richard,
      erm, I just rang them up, told them what I wanted to make and ordered it- I bought a belly cut. The only problem is that you have to buy a large piece; if there’s interest maybe we could organise a group buy.

  2. Dave says:

    Nice handle for the GB Carving axe. I would like to get one of those someday. What did you make the handle from?

  3. Steve Tomlin says:

    It’s a lovely tool, the handle is ash.

    • Dave says:

      Thanks. I figured so, but thought I would ask. I have an old broad axe head coming in the mail and need to make a handle for it. We also have white ash in my area. I hope to find a small log so that I can make a few handles without having to take a whole tree.

Leave a Reply

