Dalkeith Helicopter Workshop

I spent last weekend making helicopters; no, it wasn’t what I expected to be doing either. I was at Dalkeith Country Fair, a new event just outside Edinburgh, as part of Gavin Phillips’ Shed Therapy stand. Gavin had asked me to join his team of greenwood demonstrators and makers who provide demonstrations, have-a-go session and items for sale at a number of shows through the summer. The team also included Tom Dillon (one of Mike Abbott’s assistants), Rolf Buwert a professional turner and Digger Gardiner who’s new to woodworking and was getting his first taste of being at a show.

Wooden helicoptersI had brought my kitchenware, chairs and fan birds and we arranged our marquee with polelathes, shavehorses signage designed to tempt people over to have a look and have a go. As I unpacked, I casually showed Gavin the toy helicopters I sometimes make. He was immediately taken by them and set me to making some more. Well, I pretty much spent the rest of the weekend carving ‘copters to try and keep up with Gavin’s amazing ability to sell them. Simple in a way; walk up to someone, offer to show them how it works and then wait for a break in their enjoyment to ask if they’d like to buy it to take home and continue the fun. By Sunday we had established the ‘Dalkeith Flying School’ and families, as well as buying a helicopter each for competitions, wanted their photo taken by the sign.

Dalkeith Flying SchoolBut hang on, I’m a craftsman and these are just gimmicks aren’t they; why am wasting my time on them? The simplest answer is that they gave a lot of pleasure to a lot of people and meant I went home with some cash in my pocket when other things weren’t selling. From a larger viewpoint I think that anything which engages the public with natural materials and the idea that they can make their own toys or whatever from local materials is a good thing.

While I’m talking about helicopters, make sure you have a look at Toy Making Dad. When I was first learning to make them I was having stability issues and, after searching a few aeronautical forums I happened upon Dan’s site which solved all my problems, as well as making me laugh out loud.

About Steve Tomlin

I am a greenwood worker and scythe tutor. I carve spoons, bowls and other products from locally sourced greenwood. During the summer I teach how to mow with a scythe.
This entry was posted in greenwood events, SteveTomlinCrafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dalkeith Helicopter Workshop

  1. seanhellman says:

    Interesting blog Steve, I have also read your thoughts on the Bodgers forum about gimmicks and making money. What interests me is the words and ideas you use, eg gimmick, to label it as a toy is fair enough. Are we beging snobs and feel that such things are beneath us as we are craftsmen? What ever I craft whether it is an amazing and simulating toy/physics project like this or a simple artefact I hope I put all my skill, craft and knowledge into the making of it. Even the simplest, common and ” gimmicky” items can still be well crafted made by craftspeople.
    I think the cheap plastic crap that does not even fullfill its function properly is just a gimmick to fleece money out of especially parents. People often buy to much landfill waste.

    it was great to see you the other night and it was a shame I could not spend more time chatting.

    All the best
    Sean

    • Steve Tomlin says:

      Hi Sean,
      I totally agree with you. I used the word ‘gimmick’ to reflect the opinion that lots of craftspeople have about making these kind of items. As I say, I love showing folk that they can make simple things with natural materials and have a lot of fun with them. Thanks again for showing me the helicopters.
      Steve

  2. Looks like a great candidate for the half hour challenge!

Leave a Reply

