Kosenka spoons

plum spoonsI’ve been away in the White Carpathian area of Czech Republic, taking part in a conservation project to manage 6ha of upland pasture for wild orchids using scythes. You can read about the mowing on scytherspace, my scythe blog.

All the volunteers ate communally from a field kitchen with a varied assortment of utensils so I took the chance to carve a couple of eating spoons from a piece of plum wood. We’d been enjoying the local slivovic - plum brandy – so this seemed a fitting choice of wood to use.

About Steve Tomlin

I am a greenwood worker and scythe tutor. I carve spoons, bowls and other products from locally sourced greenwood. During the summer I teach how to mow with a scythe.
This entry was posted in spoon carving, SteveTomlinCrafts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kosenka spoons

  1. treewright says:

    Steve I remember that slivovic from when I was in Czech Republic – it nearly finished me off!

  2. Bob the Bodger says:

    Steve the Scythe

    Great spoons. Great to see you in Brid… May be around late August for a jar!Nearly settled in my new place. Doing some volunteer Bodging at the GWT, Coalbrookdale. Re Mike’s book surely you could get a couple of open ended spanners to use as rung measures instead of a micrometer? Let’s know when your forge is up and running. I have had a couple of requests for tools that I don’t makie any more. Bob the Bodger

Leave a Reply

